Author Topic: New here. Looking for help with a 56 Plymouth Suburban Custom  (Read 336 times)

DanielReeve78

• First Gear
Re: New here. Looking for help with a 56 Plymouth Suburban Custom
« Reply #9 on: July 06, 2018, 05:32:02 PM »
The information I gave you came from my  Plymouth service manual. Since the number is on the front block and not on top I would say it is a 277. (I am not an expert). Since it starts with P29 you know it is an orignal engine to the car.

Awesome, thanks!

CHS

• Proven posts ok.
  • Full throttle user!
  • 1955 Plymouth Belvedere
« Reply #8 on: July 06, 2018, 12:30:22 PM »
The information I gave you came from my  Plymouth service manual. Since the number is on the front block and not on top I would say it is a 277. (I am not an expert). Since it starts with P29 you know it is an orignal engine to the car.

DanielReeve78

• First Gear
« Reply #7 on: July 05, 2018, 07:06:19 PM »
Hopefully the picture shows. So on the face of the engine block, drivers side, I found P29-223841. If I’m reading this right, it’s the 277 Cu In?

CHS

• Proven posts ok.
  • Full throttle user!
  • 1955 Plymouth Belvedere
« Reply #6 on: July 05, 2018, 11:54:55 AM »
In 1956 They either had a 6 cylinder if this is the case above the generator on the front of the engine block should have a vin number starting with P28. If it is an 8 cylinder Hy-Fire the number is located in top of the engine at the front next to the oil filler pipe. If it has a 200 hp Hy-Fire the nyumber is locatedon the left front face of the cylinder block. The 8 cylinder is known as a P 29 either a 270 or 277 cu.in .

RC Drown

• Proven posts ok.
  • Full throttle user!
« Reply #5 on: July 04, 2018, 05:56:34 AM »
looking on the driver's side of the front of the block should be a flat area with the engine # stamped in it.  I am taking it for granted that it is a flat head six, if not, then I can't help you

DanielReeve78

• First Gear
« Reply #4 on: July 03, 2018, 10:03:17 PM »